Governors are sent by Him to punish the evildoers and praise the virtuous (1 Peter 2:14).

Congressional Record2017/03/28Senate | House | Extensions

2017/03/28 > Digest
Sixteen bills and one resolution were introduced, as follows: S. 739–754, and S. Res. 101.
Page S2047
Special Report entitled “Activities of the Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs During the 114th Congress.”. (S. Rept. No. 115–12)
Page S2047
Committee on the Judiciary was discharged from further consideration of S. Res. 95, designating March 22, 2017, as “National Rehabilitation Counselors Appreciation Day”, and the resolution was then agreed to.
Page S2051
Senate agreed to S. Res. 101, providing for members on the part of the Senate of the Joint Committee on Printing and the Joint Committee of Congress on the Library.
Page S2051
The Chair announced, on behalf of the Secretary of the Senate, pursuant to Public Law 101–509, the reappointment of the following individual to serve as a member of the Advisory Committee on the Records of Congress: Sheryl B. Vogt, of Georgia.
Page S2051
: By 97 yeas to 2 nays (Vote No. 98), two-thirds of the Senators present having voted in the affirmative, Senate agreed to the resolution of Advice and Consent to Ratification to Treaty Doc. 114–12, Protocol to the North Atlantic Treaty of 1949 on the Accession of Montenegro, after having passed through its various parliamentary stages, up to and including the presentation of the resolution of ratification, and taking action on the following amendments proposed thereto:
Pages S2019–32, S2032–39
McConnell Amendment No. 193, to change the enactment date.
Pages S2019, S2038
McConnell Amendment No. 194 (to Amendment No. 193), of a perfecting nature.
Pages S2019, S2038
Page S2046
Page S2047
Pages S2047–49
Pages S2049–51
Page S2051
One record vote was taken today. (Total--98)
Page S2038
24 public bills, H.R. 1746–1769; and 1 resolution, H.J. Res. 92, were introduced.
Pages H2515–16

Pages H2517–18
H. Res. 233, providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 1431) to amend the Environmental Research, Development, and Demonstration Authorization Act of 1978 to provide for Scientific Advisory Board member qualifications, public participation, and for other purposes (H. Rept. 115–64).
Page H2504
Read a letter from the Speaker wherein he appointed Representative Woodall to act as Speaker pro tempore for today.
Page H2467
The House recessed at 10:12 a.m. and reconvened at 12 noon.
Page H2468
The prayer was offered by the Guest Chaplain, Rabbi Sanford Akselrad, Congregation Ner Tamid, Henderson, NV.
Page H2468
The House recessed at 2:01 p.m. and reconvened at 3 p.m.
Page H2486
The House agreed to H. Res. 229, providing for consideration of the bill (H.R. 1430) to prohibit the Environmental Protection Agency from proposing, finalizing, or disseminating regulations or assessments based upon science that is not transparent or reproducible, by a recorded vote of 231 ayes to 185 noes, Roll No. 198, after the previous question was ordered by a yea-and-nay vote of 231 yeas to 189 nays, Roll No. 197.
Pages H2471–78, H2486–87
Representative Lofgren rose to a question of the privileges of the House and submitted a resolution. The Chair ruled that the resolution did not present a question of the privileges of the House. Subsequently, Representative Lofgren appealed the ruling of the chair and Representative Flores moved to table the appeal. Agreed to the motion to table the appeal of the ruling of the Chair by a yea-and-nay vote of 228 yeas to 190 nays with 2 answering “present”, Roll No. 201.
Pages H2501–03
The House passed S.J. Res. 34, providing for congressional disapproval under chapter 8 of title 5, United States Code, of the rule submitted by the Federal Communications Commission relating to “Protecting the Privacy of Customers of Broadband and Other Telecommunications Services”, by a yea-and-nay vote of 215 yeas to 205 nays, Roll No. 202.
Pages H2489–H2501, H2503–04
H. Res. 230, the rule providing for consideration of the joint resolution (S.J. Res. 34) was agreed to by a recorded vote of 231 ayes to 189 noes, Roll No. 200, after the previous question was ordered by a yea-and-nay vote of 232 yeas to 184 nays, Roll No. 199.
Pages H2478–86, H2487–88
Read a letter from Representative Pelosi, Minority Leader, in which she appointed the following Members to be available to serve on investigative subcommittees of the Committee on Ethics for the 115th Congress: Representatives Bonamici, Higgins, Jeffries, Keating, Krishnamoorthi, Perlmutter, Raskin, Sewell (AL), Soto, and Titus.
Page H2504
S.J. Res. 30 was referred to the Committee on House Administration. S.J. Res. 35 was referred to the Committee on House Administration. S.J. Res. 36 was referred to the Committee on House Administration.
Page H2514

Back to Top | Source:

Legislative BranchLive Floor Updates, Congressional Record

Members, Committees

Live: House, Senate, All

Votes: House, Senate

Record: Daily, Weekly

Prayer, News, Reporters