Governors are sent by Him to punish the evildoers and praise the virtuous (1 Peter 2:14).

Congressional Record2017/5/2Senate | House | Extensions

2017/5/2 > Digest > D478 >     1 | Next Article


[Daily Digest]
[Page D478]
From the Congressional Record Online through GPO

                                               Tuesday, May 2, 2017

[[Page D478]]

                              Daily Digest


Chamber Action
Routine Proceedings, pages S2659-S2685

Measures Introduced: Twelve bills and one resolution were introduced, 
as follows: S. 1001-1012, and S. Res. 149.
  Page S2680

Measures Passed:
  Space Weather Research and Forecasting Act: Senate passed S. 141, to 
improve understanding and forecasting of space weather events, after 
agreeing to the committee amendment in the nature of a substitute. 
                                                         Pages S2672-74
  Modernizing Government Travel Act: Senate passed H.R. 274, to provide 
for reimbursement for the use of modern travel services by Federal 
employees traveling on official Government business.
  Page S2683
  DHS SAVE Act: Senate passed H.R. 366, to amend the Homeland Security 
Act of 2002 to direct the Under Secretary for Management of the 
Department of Homeland Security to make certain improvements in 
managing the Department's vehicle fleet, after agreeing to the 
committee amendments.
  Pages S2683-84
  National Safe Digging Month: Committee on Commerce, Science, and 
Transportation was discharged from further consideration of S. Res. 
137, supporting the goals and ideals of National Safe Digging Month, 
and the resolution was then agreed to.
  Pages S2684-85
  World Malaria Day: Senate agreed to S. Res. 149, supporting the goals 
and ideals of World Malaria Day.
  Page S2685
Nomination Confirmed: Senate confirmed the following nomination:
  By 61 yeas to 37 nays (Vote No. EX. 118), Jay Clayton, of New York, 
to be a Member of the Securities and Exchange Commission for a term 
expiring June 5, 2021.
Page S2685
Nominations Received: Senate received the following nominations:
  Marshall Billingslea, of Virginia, to be Assistant Secretary for 
Terrorist Financing, Department of the Treasury.
  Russell Vought, of Virginia, to be Deputy Director of the Office of 
Management and Budget.
Page S2685

Messages from the House:
  Page S2679

Measures Referred:
  Page S2679

Enrolled Bills Presented:
  Pages S2679-80

Additional Cosponsors:
  Pages S2680-81

Statements on Introduced Bills/Resolutions:
  Pages S2681-83

Additional Statements:
  Pages S2678-79

Authorities for Committees to Meet:
  Page S2683

Record Votes: One record vote was taken today. (Total--118) 
                                                             Page S2677

Adjournment: Senate convened at 10 a.m. and adjourned at 5:59 p.m., 
until 9:30 a.m. on Wednesday, May 3, 2017. (For Senate's program, see 
the remarks of the Majority Leader in today's Record on page S2685.)


Back to Top | Next Article | Source:

Legislative BranchLive Floor Updates, Congressional Record


Members, Committees

Plan: House, Senate; Prayer

Live: House, Senate, Deck

Record: Daily, Weekly

Votes: House, Senate

News, Reporters