Governors are sent by Him to punish the evildoers and praise the virtuous (1 Peter 2:14).

Congressional Record2017/7/31Senate | House | Extensions

2017/7/31 > Senate > S4612 >     1 | Next Article


[Page S4612]
From the Congressional Record Online through GPO

                     EXECUTIVE CALENDAR--Continued

                             Cloture Motion

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Pursuant to rule XXII, the Chair lays before the Senate the pending cloture motion, which the clerk will state.

The legislative clerk read as follows: Cloture Motion We, the undersigned Senators, in accordance with the provisions of rule XXII of the Standing Rules of the Senate, do hereby move to bring to a close debate on the nomination of Kevin Christopher Newsom, of Alabama, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Eleventh Circuit. Dan Sullivan, John Barrasso, John Cornyn, Orrin G. Hatch, Ron Johnson, Chuck Grassley, Tom Cotton, Richard Burr, James Lankford, Lamar Alexander, John Kennedy, Cory Gardner, James M. Inhofe, Michael B. Enzi, John Thune, Richard C. Shelby, Mitch McConnell.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. By unanimous consent, the mandatory quorum call has been waived.

The question is, Is it the sense of the Senate that debate on the nomination of Kevin Christopher Newsom, of Alabama, to be United States Circuit Judge for the Eleventh Circuit, shall be brought to a close?

The yeas and nays are mandatory under the rule.

The clerk will call the roll.

The legislative clerk called the roll.

Mr. CORNYN. The following Senators are necessarily absent: the Senator from North Carolina (Mr. Burr), the Senator from South Carolina (Mr. Graham), and the Senator from Arizona (Mr. McCain).

Mr. DURBIN. I announce that the Senator from New Jersey (Mr. Menendez), the Senator from Oregon (Mr. Merkley), and the Senator from Michigan (Mr. Peters) are necessarily absent.

The PRESIDING OFFICER (Mr. Lankford). Are there any other Senators in the Chamber desiring to vote?

The yeas and nays resulted--yeas 68, nays 26, as follows: [Rollcall Vote No. 180 Leg.] YEAS--68 Alexander Barrasso Blumenthal Blunt Boozman Capito Cardin Casey Cassidy Cochran Collins Corker Cornyn Cotton Crapo Cruz Daines Donnelly Duckworth Durbin Enzi Ernst Feinstein Fischer Flake Gardner Grassley Hassan Hatch Heitkamp Heller Hirono Hoeven Inhofe Isakson Johnson Kennedy Klobuchar Lankford Leahy Lee McCaskill McConnell Moran Murkowski Murphy Nelson Paul Perdue Portman Risch Roberts Rounds Rubio Sasse Scott Shaheen Shelby Stabenow Strange Sullivan Tester Thune Tillis Toomey Warner Wicker Young NAYS--26 Baldwin Bennet Booker Brown Cantwell Carper Coons Cortez Masto Franken Gillibrand Harris Heinrich Kaine King Manchin Markey Murray Reed Sanders Schatz Schumer Udall Van Hollen Warren Whitehouse Wyden NOT VOTING--6 Burr Graham McCain Menendez Merkley Peters

The PRESIDING OFFICER. On this vote, the yeas are 68, the nays are 26.

The motion is agreed to.

The majority leader. ____________________

Back to Top | Next Article | Source:

Legislative BranchLive Floor Updates, Congressional Record


Members, Committees

Live: House, Senate, Deck

Votes: House, Senate

Record: Daily, Weekly

Prayer, News, Reporters