Governors are sent by Him to punish the evildoers and praise the virtuous (1 Peter 2:14).

Congressional Record2018/1/16Senate | House | Extensions

2018/1/16 > Extensions > E49 > 5 | 6 | Next Article

[Congressional Record Volume 164, Number 9 (Tuesday, January 16, 2018)]
[Extensions of Remarks]
[Pages E49-E50]
From the Congressional Record Online through GPO



                           HON. DARIN LaHOOD

                              of illinois

                    in the house of representatives

                       Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Mr. LaHOOD. Mr. Speaker, today, I would like to proudly announce the service academy [[Page E50]] nominees for Illinois' 18th Congressional District.

Twenty-three remarkable individuals have been selected for admittance into the U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, or U.S. Air Force Academy. These young men and women have gone through a rigorous and competitive application process, making them the most impressive and outstanding group of individuals. This group gives me confidence in America's future.

I would like to thank the members of our selection panel including veterans and community leaders who volunteered their time, talents, and attention to this process. I would also like to thank the parents for raising these exceptional young adults. Finally, I would like to thank the nominees themselves for their dedication to serving this great nation.

The Illinois 18th congressional district service academy nominees are:

Andrew Kim--Washington, IL, U.S. Air Force Academy & U.S. Military Academy.

Aminah Jones--Springfield, IL, U.S. Air Force Academy & U.S. Naval Academy.

Justin McCabe--Morton, IL, U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Naval Academy & U.S. Military Academy.

Francesca Verville--Edwards, IL, U.S. Air Force Academy.

Matthew Borrowman--Washington, IL, U.S. Air Force Academy.

Jordan Sanchez--Elkhart, IL, U.S. Air Force Academy.

Bryant Williams--Springfield, IL, U.S. Air Force Academy.

Christopher Voegle--Bloomington, IL. U.S. Air Force Academy.

Justin Sharp--Bloomington, IL, U.S. Air Force Academy.

Kyle Campbell--Riverton, IL, U.S. Military Academy.

Paul Oelkers--Edelstein, IL, U.S. Military Academy.

Shane Hickman--Normal, IL, U.S. Military Academy.

Tessa Leman--Eureka, IL, U.S. Military Academy.

Kaden Schmittner--Bloomington, IL, U.S. Military Academy.

Micah Weiss--Sherman, IL, U.S. Military Academy.

Steven O'Rear--Lincoln, IL, U.S. Naval Academy.

Molly Day--Normal, IL, U.S. Naval Academy.

Christopher Leanos--Metamora, IL, U.S. Naval Academy.

Dominic Signa--Germantown Hills, IL, U.S. Naval Academy.

Matthew Tungett--Rochester, IL, U.S. Naval Academy.

William Hudson--Washington, IL, U.S. Naval Academy.

Duncan Bradshaw--New Salem, IL, U.S. Naval Academy.

Stephen Brown--Bloomington, IL, U.S. Naval Academy. ____________________

Back to Top | Next Article | Source:

Legislative BranchLive Floor Updates, Congressional Record


Members, Committees

Live: House, Senate, Deck

Votes: House, Senate

Record: Daily, Weekly

Prayer, News, Reporters